Newton County GA Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Georgia (41,719) > Newton County (320)

Newton County Records by City/Town

Covington Genealogy (110)
Mansfield Genealogy (27)
Newborn Genealogy (22)

Oxford Genealogy (44)
Porterdale Genealogy (22)

Overview of Newton County Records

  • Newton County was created in 1821 from Henry, Jasper, and Walton counties.
  • Copies of birth and death certificates from 1919 and later can be obtained from the Georgia Department of Public Health.
  • The Newton County Clerk Superior Court has divorce records, court records starting in 1822, land records starting in 1822, and military records starting in 1917.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.