Decatur County IA Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Iowa (43,770) > Decatur County (523)

Decatur County Records by City/Town

Bloomington Genealogy (56)
Burrell Genealogy (51)
Center in Decatur County Genealogy (44)
Davis City Genealogy (56)
Decatur Genealogy (56)
Eden Genealogy (56)
Fayette in Decatur County Genealogy (45)
Franklin Genealogy (48)
Garden Grove Genealogy (75)
Grand River in Decatur County Genealogy (55)

Hamilton Genealogy (50)
High Point Genealogy (49)
Lamoni Genealogy (84)
Leon Genealogy (80)
Long Creek Genealogy (45)
Morgan Genealogy (46)
New Buda Genealogy (46)
Pleasanton Genealogy (43)
Richland Genealogy (62)
Woodland Genealogy (57)

Overview of Decatur County Records

  • Decatur County was created in 1846 from unorganized territory.
  • Birth, marriage, and death records for 1880 and later can be obtained from the Iowa Department of Public Health.
  • The Decatur County Courthouse burned in 1874 and many early records were lost.
  • The Decatur County Clerk has birth records starting in 1880, death records starting in 1880, divorce records, probate records starting in 1880, marriage records starting in 1880, land records starting in 1874, and some military discharge and cemetery records.
  • Online indexes and images for many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.