Clay County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,669) > Clay County (252)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Clay County Records by City/Town

Baptist Ridge Genealogy (23)
Butlers Landing Genealogy (22)
Celina Genealogy (59)
Hermitage Springs Genealogy (24)

Moss Genealogy (31)
Pea Ridge Genealogy (28)
Pine Hill Genealogy (24)

Overview of Clay County Records

  • Clay County was created in 1870 from Jackson and Overton counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Clay County Clerk has marriage records starting in 1870.
  • The Clay County Clerk and Master has probate records starting in 1870.
  • The Clay County Assessor has land records starting in 1871.
  • The Clay County Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records starting in 1870.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.