Walker County GA Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Georgia (41,719) > Walker County (342)

Walker County Records by City/Town

Cedar Grove Genealogy (20)
Chickamauga Genealogy (36)
Flintstone Genealogy (20)
LaFayette Genealogy (55)

Lookout Mountain Genealogy (21)
Rossville Genealogy (33)
Villanow Genealogy (25)

Overview of Walker County Records

  • Walker County was created in 1833 from Murray County.
  • Copies of birth and death certificates from 1919 and later can be obtained from the Georgia Department of Public Health.
  • The Walker County courthouse had multiple fires in 1883 and all early records were lost.
  • The Walker County Clerk Superior Court has divorce records and land records starting in 1883.
  • The Walker County Probate Judge has marriage records starting in 1883 and probate records starting in 1883.
  • The Walker County Health Department has birth records starting in 1919 and death records starting in 1919.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.