Fayette County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,669) > Fayette County (298)

Fayette County Records by City/Town

Belmont Genealogy (22)
Braden Genealogy (31)
Fayette Corners Genealogy (22)
Gallaway Genealogy (25)
La Grange Genealogy (26)
Laconia Genealogy (23)

Macon Genealogy (25)
Moscow Genealogy (35)
Oakland Genealogy (27)
Rossville Genealogy (23)
Somerville Genealogy (69)
Williston Genealogy (31)

Overview of Fayette County Records

  • Fayette County was created in 1824 from Shelby and Hardeman counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Fayette County Clerk has birth records and death records from 1814 to 1929, as well as marriage records starting in 1838 (except marriage records from 1918 to 1925).
  • The Fayette County Clerk and Master has probate records starting in 1836.
  • The Fayette County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1821.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.