Lauderdale County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,669) > Lauderdale County (255)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Lauderdale County Records by City/Town

Durhamville Genealogy (31)
Gates Genealogy (31)
Halls Genealogy (44)

Henning Genealogy (37)
Ripley Genealogy (77)

Overview of Lauderdale County Records

  • Lauderdale County was created in 1835 from Dyer, Tipton, and Haywood counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Lauderdale County Clerk has marriage records starting in 1838 and probate records starting in 1836.
  • The Lauderdale County Clerk Chancery Court has divorce records.
  • The Lauderdale County General Sessions Court has court records starting in 1836.
  • The Lauderdale County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1822.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.