McMinn County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,669) > McMinn County (457)

McMinn County Records by City/Town

Athens Genealogy (135)
Calhoun Genealogy (38)
Englewood Genealogy (36)

Etowah Genealogy (51)
Niota Genealogy (41)
Riceville Genealogy (39)

Overview of McMinn County Records

  • McMinn County was created in 1819 from Cherokee Indian Lands.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The McMinn County Clerk has marriage records starting in 1901, probate records starting in 1900, and court records starting in 1843.
  • The McMinn County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1901.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.