Montgomery County TN Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Tennessee (45,704) > Montgomery County (801)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Montgomery County Records by City/Town

Clarksville Genealogy (352)
Cumberland Heights Genealogy (31)
Cunningham Genealogy (49)
Dotsonville Genealogy (30)
Hickory Point Genealogy (35)
Oakridge Genealogy (31)
Oakwood Genealogy (35)

Palmyra Genealogy (51)
Port Royal Genealogy (41)
Shady Grove Genealogy (31)
Shiloh in Montgomery County Genealogy (30)
Southside Genealogy (41)
Woodlawn Genealogy (45)

Overview of Montgomery County Records

  • Montgomery County was created in 1796.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Montgomery County Archives has marriage records starting in 1838, probate records starting in 1797, and court records starting in 1805.
  • The Montgomery County Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records starting in 1930.
  • The Montgomery County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1786.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.