Pickens County AL Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Alabama (33,615) > Pickens County (471)

Pickens County Records by City/Town

Aliceville Genealogy (66)
Benevola Genealogy (39)
Bostic Genealogy (39)
Carrollton Genealogy (75)
Cochrane Genealogy (41)
Ethelsville Genealogy (51)

Gordo Genealogy (67)
Memphis Genealogy (39)
Pickensville Genealogy (50)
Reform Genealogy (70)
Whitten Genealogy (39)

Overview of Pickens County Records

  • Pickens County was created in 1820 from Tuscaloosa County.
  • Birth and death records for 1908 and later can be obtained from the Alabama Department of Public Health.
  • The Pickens County courthouse had fires in 1864 and 1876 that destroyed many records.
  • The Pickens County Probate Judge has marriage records starting in 1876, probate records starting in 1876, and land records starting in 1876.
  • The Pickens County Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records starting in 1876.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.