Jones County MS Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Mississippi (25,807) > Jones County (616)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Jones Records by Type

Birth Records (1)
Cemetery Records (394)
Census Records (37)
Church Records (1)
City Directories (21)
Court Records (2)
Death Records (4)
Histories and Genealogies (4)
Immigration Records (1)
Land Records (9)
Map Records (15)
Marriage Records (7)
Military Records (12)
Minority Records (2)
Miscellaneous Records (2)
Newspapers and Obituaries (67)
Probate Records (4)
School Records (30)
Tax Records (3)

Jones County Records by City/Town

Blodgett Genealogy (25)
Eastabuchie Genealogy (23)
Ellisville Genealogy (123)
Gitano Genealogy (27)
Hebron Genealogy (27)
Laurel Genealogy (192)

Moselle Genealogy (40)
Ovett Genealogy (34)
Sandersville Genealogy (36)
Sharon in Jones County Genealogy (25)
Soso Genealogy (42)
Whitfield Genealogy (28)

Overview of Jones County Records

  • Jones County was created in 1826 from Covington and Wayne counties.
  • Birth records in 1912 to the present, marriage records for 1926 to the present, and death records for 1912 can be obtained from the Mississippi State Department of Health.
  • The Jones County Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records starting in 1882 and court records starting in 1857.
  • The Jones County Clerk Chancery Court has divorce and land records starting in 1828.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.