Carter County MT Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Montana (9,038) > Carter County (73)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Carter Records by Type

Birth Records (3)
Cemetery Records (18)
Census Records (13)
Death Records (2)
Histories and Genealogies (3)
Immigration Records (1)
Land Records (4)
Map Records (4)
Marriage Records (5)
Military Records (2)
Miscellaneous Records (1)
Newspapers and Obituaries (13)
School Records (4)

Carter County Records by City/Town

Alzada Genealogy (20)

Ekalaka Genealogy (33)

Overview of Carter County Records

  • Carter County was created in 1917 from Custer County.
  • Birth and death records from 1907 to the present, as well as marriage and divorce records from 1943 to the present, can be obtained from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
  • The Carter County Clerk has birth, death, and land records starting in 1917.
  • The Carter County Clerk Courts has marriage records starting in 1917, divorce records, probate records starting in 1917, and court records starting in 1917.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.