Yellowstone County MT Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Montana (9,038) > Yellowstone County (342)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Yellowstone Records by Type

Birth Records (5)
Cemetery Records (46)
Census Records (34)
Church Records (10)
City Directories (65)
Death Records (10)
Histories and Genealogies (6)
Immigration Records (1)
Land Records (4)
Map Records (24)
Marriage Records (11)
Military Records (4)
Miscellaneous Records (1)
Newspapers and Obituaries (86)
Probate Records (2)
School Records (33)

Yellowstone County Records by City/Town

Billings Genealogy (212)
Broadview Genealogy (25)

Laurel Genealogy (44)

Overview of Yellowstone County Records

  • Yellowstone County was created in 1883 from Gallatin, Meagher, Custer, and Carbon counties.
  • Birth and death records from 1907 to the present, as well as marriage and divorce records from 1943 to the present, can be obtained from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
  • The Yellowstone County Clerk-Recorder has birth, death, land, and military records starting in 1883.
  • The Yellowstone County Clerk District Court has marriage records starting in 1887, divorce records, probate records starting in 1883, and court records starting in 1883.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.