Wells County ND Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > North Dakota (11,602) > Wells County (208)

Wells County Records by City/Town

Bowdon Genealogy (22)
Bremen Genealogy (18)
Cathay Genealogy (17)
Fessenden Genealogy (33)
Hamberg Genealogy (18)

Harvey Genealogy (49)
Heaton Genealogy (19)
Hurdsfield Genealogy (17)
Manfred Genealogy (17)
Sykeston Genealogy (24)

Overview of Wells County Records

  • Wells County was created in 1873 from Buffalo County.
  • Birth records from 1870 to the present (incomplete before 1920) and death records from 1893 to the present (incomplete before 1920) can be obtained from the North Dakota Department of Health.
  • The Wells County Clerk District Court has birth records starting in 1893, marriage records starting in 1887, death records starting in 1893, burial records, divorce records, probate records starting in 1873, and court records starting in 1873.
  • The Wells County Register of Deeds has land records starting in 1873.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.