Benson County ND Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > North Dakota (11,602) > Benson County (318)

Benson County Records by City/Town

Brinsmade Genealogy (20)
Esmond Genealogy (34)
Fort Totten Genealogy (23)
Knox Genealogy (22)
Leeds Genealogy (28)

Maddock Genealogy (41)
Minnewaukan Genealogy (36)
Oberon Genealogy (34)
York Genealogy (18)

Overview of Benson County Records

  • Benson County was created in 1883 from DeSmet and Ramsey counties.
  • Birth records from 1870 to the present (incomplete before 1920) and death records from 1893 to the present (incomplete before 1920) can be obtained from the North Dakota Department of Health.
  • The Benson County Clerk District Court has court records starting in 1883, death record starting in 1895, divorce records, guardianship records, marriage records starting in late 1800s, and probate records starting in 1883
  • The Benson County Recorder has land records starting in 1883.
  • The Benson County Auditor has newspapers and other historical records.
  • The Benson County Treasurer has tax records.
  • The Benson County State Health Department has birth records starting in the late 1890s.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.