Cumberland County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,669) > Cumberland County (395)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Cumberland County Records by City/Town

Big Lick Genealogy (28)
Crab Orchard Genealogy (34)
Crossville Genealogy (106)
Grassy Cove Genealogy (32)
Lake Tansi Genealogy (30)

Ozone Genealogy (27)
Pleasant Hill Genealogy (31)
Vandever Genealogy (30)
Westel Genealogy (32)

Overview of Cumberland County Records

  • Cumberland County was created in 1855 from Bledsoe, Morgan, Roane, White, Rhea, Van Buren, and Putnam counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Cumberland County Clerk has marriage records starting in 1905 and probate records starting in 1904.
  • The Cumberland County Clerk and Master and Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
  • The Cumberland County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1854.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.