Lawrence County TN Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Tennessee (45,704) > Lawrence County (490)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Lawrence County Records by City/Town

Ethridge Genealogy (37)
Henryville Genealogy (28)
Iron City Genealogy (31)
Lawrenceburg Genealogy (135)
Leoma Genealogy (35)

Loretto Genealogy (49)
Saint Joseph Genealogy (28)
Summertown Genealogy (39)
Westpoint Genealogy (29)

Overview of Lawrence County Records

  • Lawrence County was created in 1817 from Hickman and Maury counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Lawrence County Health Department has birth records starting in 1908.
  • The Lawrence County Clerk has marriage records starting in 1818 and probate records starting in 1829.
  • The Lawrence County Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
  • The Lawrence County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1819.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.