Lewis County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,669) > Lewis County (220)

Lewis County Records by City/Town

Hohenwald Genealogy (96)

Overview of Lewis County Records

  • Lewis County was created in 1843 from Hickman, Maury, Wayne, and Lawrence counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • Lewis County was abolished in 1866 following the civil war, so for that year records will be found in Maury, Lawrence, Hickman, and Wayne counties. Lewis County was restored in 1867.
  • The Lewis County Clerk has marriage records starting in 1847, probate records starting in 1846, and court records starting in 1844.
  • The Lewis County Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
  • The Lewis County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1827.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.