Winston County AL Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Alabama (33,615) > Winston County (428)

Winston County Records by City/Town

Addison Genealogy (48)
Arley Genealogy (54)
Ashridge Genealogy (30)
Double Springs Genealogy (88)
Haleyville Genealogy (85)

Houston Genealogy (36)
Lynn Genealogy (40)
Moreland Genealogy (29)
Natural Bridge Genealogy (32)

Overview of Winston County Records

  • Winston County was created in 1858 from Walker County.
  • Birth and death records for 1908 and later can be obtained from the Alabama Department of Public Health.
  • The Winston County courthouse had a fire in 1891 that destroyed many of the early records.
  • The Winston County Probate Judge has marriage records starting in 1891, probate records starting in 1891, and land records starting in 1891.
  • The Winston County Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records starting in 1892.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.