Lawrence County AL Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Alabama (33,615) > Lawrence County (549)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Lawrence County Records by City/Town

Caddo Genealogy (37)
Courtland Genealogy (76)
Hatton Genealogy (48)
Hillsboro Genealogy (60)
Landersville Genealogy (36)
Masterson Mill Genealogy (34)
Moulton Genealogy (104)

Mount Hope Genealogy (43)
Oakville Genealogy (36)
Pinhook Genealogy (35)
Speake Genealogy (40)
Town Creek Genealogy (65)
Wren Genealogy (35)

Overview of Lawrence County Records

  • Lawrence County was created in 1818 from the Cherokee and Chickasaw Cession of 1816.
  • Birth and death records for 1908 and later can be obtained from the Alabama Department of Public Health.
  • The Lawrence County Probate Judge has marriage records starting in 1810, divorce records, probate records starting in 1810, and land records starting in 1810.
  • The Lawrence County Clerk Circuit Court has court records starting in 1828.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.