Franklin County AL Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Alabama (33,615) > Franklin County (459)

Franklin County Records by City/Town

Belgreen Genealogy (55)
Frankfort Genealogy (30)
Hodges Genealogy (44)
Phil Campbell Genealogy (65)
Pleasant Grove in Franklin County Genealogy (31)

Red Bay Genealogy (50)
Russellville Genealogy (103)
Spruce Pine Genealogy (37)
Vina Genealogy (43)

Overview of Franklin County Records

  • Franklin County was created in 1818 from Cherokee and Chickasaw Cession of 1816.
  • Birth and death records for 1908 and later can be obtained from the Alabama Department of Public Health.
  • The Franklin County courthouse burned in 1890 and many early records were lost.
  • The Franklin County Probate Judge has marriage records starting in 1890, probate records starting in 1890, and land records starting in 1890.
  • The Franklin County Clerk Circuit Court has court records starting in 1923 and divorce records.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.