Garfield County MT Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Montana (9,035) > Garfield County (94)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Garfield County Records by City/Town

Cohagen Genealogy (19)
Jordan Genealogy (26)

Sand Springs Genealogy (20)

Overview of Garfield County Records

  • Garfield County was created in 1919 from Dawson County.
  • Birth and death records from 1907 to the present, as well as marriage and divorce records from 1943 to the present, can be obtained from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
  • The Garfield County Clerk has birth records starting in 1919, death records starting in 1917, and land records starting in 1919.
  • The Garfield County Clerk Courts has marriage records starting in 1919, divorce records, probate records starting in 1919, and court records starting in 1919.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.