Silver Bow County MT Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Montana (9,860) > Silver Bow County (408)

Silver Bow County Records by City/Town

Butte Genealogy (331)
Melrose Genealogy (28)

Walkerville Genealogy (29)

Overview of Silver Bow County Records

  • Silver Bow County was created in 1881 from Deer Lodge County.
  • Birth and death records from 1907 to the present, as well as marriage and divorce records from 1943 to the present, can be obtained from the Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services.
  • The Silver Bow County Clerk and Recorders Office has birth and death records starting in 1890, land records starting in 1881, and military discharge records starting in 1918.
  • The Silver Bow County Clerk of District Court has court records starting in 1881, marriage records starting in 1881, divorce records starting in 1913, and guardianship and probate records starting in 1881.
  • The Silver Bow County Archives has immigration and naturalization records, coroner registers records starting in 1894, burial records from 1880 to 1980, newspapers starting in 1891, and other historical records.
  • Online indexes and images of some of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.