Cleveland County NC Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > North Carolina (69,995) > Cleveland County (850)

Cleveland County Records by City/Town

Belwood Genealogy (34)
Boiling Springs Genealogy (61)
Casar Genealogy (63)
Double Shoals Genealogy (24)
Earl Genealogy (29)
Fallston Genealogy (37)
Grover Genealogy (46)
Kings Mountain Genealogy (109)

Lattimore Genealogy (31)
Lawndale Genealogy (69)
Mooresboro Genealogy (51)
Patterson Springs Genealogy (26)
Polkville Genealogy (52)
Shelby Genealogy (278)
Waco Genealogy (33)

Overview of Cleveland County Records

  • Cleveland County was created in 1841 from Rutherford and Lincoln counties.
  • Copies of birth and death certificates for 1916 and later can be obtained from the North Carolina Vital Records Office.
  • The Cleveland County Register of Deeds has death records starting in 1914, birth records starting in 1914, marriage records starting in 1851, and land records starting in 1841.
  • The Cleveland County Clerk Superior Court has divorce records starting in 1921, probate records starting in 1843, and court records starting in 1914.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.