Cannon County TN Genealogy

USA (1,373,456) > Tennessee (45,674) > Cannon County (277)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Cannon Records by Type

Birth Records (3)
Cemetery Records (161)
Census Records (28)
Church Records (5)
Court Records (2)
Death Records (7)
Histories and Genealogies (13)
Land Records (7)
Map Records (5)
Marriage Records (14)
Miscellaneous Records (6)
Newspapers and Obituaries (12)
Probate Records (9)
School Records (5)

Cannon County Records by City/Town

Auburntown Genealogy (28)

Woodbury Genealogy (81)

Overview of Cannon County Records

  • Cannon County was created in 1836 from Coffee, Warren, Wilson, and Rutherford counties.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Cannon County Clerk has marriage records beginning in 1838.
  • The Cannon County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1836.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.