Rutherford County TN Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > Tennessee (45,704) > Rutherford County (927)

record type help

If you're not sure which records would be helpful, you can try our Ancestor Source Finder tool.

Rutherford County Records by City/Town

Almaville Genealogy (34)
Big Springs Genealogy (31)
Blackman Genealogy (34)
Christiana Genealogy (51)
Compton Genealogy (29)
Dillton Genealogy (29)
Eagleville Genealogy (51)
Fosterville Genealogy (29)
Kittrell Genealogy (31)
La Vergne Genealogy (47)
Lascassas Genealogy (44)

Milton Genealogy (36)
Murfreesboro Genealogy (232)
Plainview Genealogy (29)
Readyville Genealogy (33)
Rockdale Genealogy (29)
Rocksprings Genealogy (34)
Rockvale Genealogy (43)
Rocky Fork Genealogy (32)
Silver Hill Genealogy (30)
Smyrna Genealogy (81)
Walterhill Genealogy (33)

Overview of Rutherford County Records

  • Rutherford County was created in 1803 from Davidson County.
  • Copies of birth records from 1908 to 1920, marriage records from 1818 to 1970, and death records from 1908 to 1970 can be obtained from the Tennessee State Library and Archives.
  • Copies of birth records for 1921 and later, marriage records for 1970 and later, and death records for 1971 and later can be obtained from the Tennessee Vital Records Office.
  • The Rutherford County Clerk has marriage records and probate records starting in 1804.
  • The Rutherford County Registrar of Deeds has land records starting in 1804.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.