Wilkes County NC Genealogy

USA (1,379,301) > North Carolina (69,995) > Wilkes County (835)

Wilkes County Records by City/Town

Boomer Genealogy (57)
Fairplains Genealogy (29)
Ferguson Genealogy (51)
Hays Genealogy (51)
McGrady Genealogy (40)
Millers Creek Genealogy (74)
Moravian Falls Genealogy (56)
Mulberry Genealogy (33)
North Wilkesboro Genealogy (117)

Parsonsville Genealogy (32)
Purlear Genealogy (44)
Roaring River Genealogy (45)
Ronda Genealogy (57)
Thurmond Genealogy (42)
Traphill Genealogy (59)
Wilbar Genealogy (34)
Wilkesboro Genealogy (111)

Overview of Wilkes County Records

  • Wilkes County was created in 1777 from Surry County and the District of Washington.
  • Copies of birth and death certificates for 1916 and later can be obtained from the North Carolina Vital Records Office.
  • The Wilkes County Register of Deeds has death records starting in 1913, birth records starting in 1913, land records starting in 1778, and marriage records starting in 1778.
  • The Wilkes County Clerk Superior Court has probate records starting in 1777 and court records starting in 1761.
  • Online indexes and images of many of the above records can be found by using the links on this site.